15
Nov
10

Finding Time During School

Getting back into the swing of school has been tough. Numerous papers, projects, and even a few speeches fill my time when I’m not committed to house matters or my ministry. People have still been asking about rosaries, but it takes a lot longer for me to finish them these days.

Most recently I finished this 15-decade rosary for a Dominican Friar in Ireland. I used onyx agate this time instead of wood, and used an 18 gauge tarnish-resistant wire for the wire-work. Dominican rosaries are a lot of work, but they look very nice when they’re finished. Living in Chicago has given me access to so much more supplies, I’m able to start experimenting with new materials while getting the things I need faster.

15 decade Dominican Rosary

These rosaries often take me longer to make because I don’t stock many parts for them. The key fobs are black instead of brown, the crosses are black on metal, not wood, and the brown, wooden beads are black. Not to mention, they require almost twice as much in materials and 3 times as much in labor. I got away with making the eye pins while watching a movie for my Christology class!

The medal for this rosary was purchased specifically for the rosary. One one side it has St. Dominic, the other has Our Lady of the Rosary. It was purchased from the New Jersey Dominican Nun’s Gift Shop.The friar thought it would be a nice touch to his rosary, and I think they look very nice as part of the entire work.

Currently I am making a Franciscan rosary for a Peruvian Capuchin who has been livin with us for the past few months. He returns to Peru after Thanksgiving to take his solemn vows. I told him I would make him a habit rosary to take back with him.

I like how the rosary came out. I hope the friar (who it’s for) agrees with me.

I don't have the nice setup I had in Novitiate...so I have to go out on the deck to take good photos of the rosaries.

0 Responses to “Finding Time During School”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Patron Saint

St. Seraphino of Montegranaro

Calendar

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Tweets for vitoofmcap

Questions or comments?

Feel free to leave any comments. If you have questions or would like to inquire about obtaining a habit rosary, please email me: vito[AT]friartech.org.

